“Make games to publish, not to finish”

Couldn’t agree more and I think especially for people with perfectionistic tendencies (like me *coughs*) this is something very important to understand.
Creative projects, that we want to release to the world as something, are a conscious decision to allow oneself to let something be.
To have a not perfect game…perfect drawing…perfect 3D Model etc.
And doing so, will teach about how few it matters, if something is perfect or not, because what really matters is, that someone get’s to see and enjoy it and I can promise, someone! someone will, atleast one person, which is you.
When releasing a game or declaring it as being done as in “I declare this state as being final, even though I don’t think it’s done”
It is relieving, freeing almost, when there is no need anymore to finish it, but it still allows you to continue working on it if you WANT.
Not anymore out of stress to have to complete it.
And additionally, years later, but maybe also months or just weeks, you can look back at it and be proud of it. No matter how many flaws it had.
That’s how it was for me, when I made my very first ludum dare game. I declared it as done and now I can enjoy it as that.
People tend to say “something is so ugly only a mother could love it” it’s not much different with games, aslong as you go through the birthing process, as a creator of a game, I’m sure you will be able to love the final product, with all it’s flaws, because besides it’s “unfinished” state, it is also a sort of acknowledgement, of your own skills, acceptance of what you are, instead of trying to hunt down an elusive goal of perfection.
This crude little game that you made? it’s YOUR baby, you made it, with who you are, no lies, no deception.

2 thoughts on ““Make games to publish, not to finish”

  1. Publishing – that’s a mentality I should get into; too easy to want to do things perfectly. Then again I think this is how I used to do blog posts a while ago, so it should be doable.

    Like

    1. I wouldn’t be surprised, if over time you would find out that there are other things, that you are already doing, but never really paid attention to, that they are not actually different from what you want to do 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

