Post-Ludum Dare

I thought I would be heads back into other games after that experience and trying to relax and play the shit out of myself XD, but turns out This weekend was soooooo satisfying (and frustrating and exciting at times).
So that I decided to try to tweak the ld game a little bit and post the version updates on ld as a extra link ๐Ÿ™‚ I was not even the slightest bit interested in playing my usual games.

This weekend was teaching me soooo much ๐Ÿ˜ฎ not only can I DO a game AND finish it, but also all the elements a game needs, it has it.
I also KNOW now, that I CAN code and that I have fun doing it ๐Ÿ™‚
At some point it even started annoying me that I had to go back and do some graphics while I was coding XD
Also I learned alot about time management and how to work efficiently on solutions for problems. I did the mistake a few times, to actually watch full length tutorials for just one tiny problem I had and later I realized, that it wasn’t really progressing at all, that I couldn’t see if it would be even helping with my problem or not and that alot of the stuff around my problem that was being talked about, I couldn’t remember/learn that quickly without actually working through it, so I had to decide that at some point I stop watching those lengthy tutorial videos and look if I either can find a more specific solution, look through unity documentation and try out things to see if I could even figure it out myself. Turns out, YES!
Like a friend told me about ludum dare: “It does not have to be pretty, it just should be playable”
yeah, I’m talking about coding here ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so often getting stuck in trying to make it perfect or “nicely sorted” or making appropriate class names, that I was too afraid to not work within the system I had build up, even if I thought the problem could be laying in that system not working properly.
But I learned that lesson ๐Ÿ˜€ Now I know it’s better to first work crudely on a low abstraction level and sort through the stuff when it’s working on the lowest level, even if that means using if statements for everything XD

Ugh, just noticed how tired and exhausted I still feel, the weekend drained me and I even got a little sick afterwards now, so I have to take it slowly. I’m so excited though ๐Ÿ˜€ Not only did I participate in that legendary ludum dare, but also I finished a game hehe.

Leave a Reply

