one day this one day that

While I was contemplating, why I have not started my actual MMO game yet, like actually started, like having something visible on the screen of a game that can be roughly recognized as something that can shape into an MMO.
I noticed thoughts of that I don’t think my idea is spectacularly special or overwhelmingly unique or that it would somehow be different enough from other games to not just get the stamp of: URGH another MMO like that!

But why should it matter to me? Why should it matter to me, if someone thinks my game idea is not worth exploring? why should it matter to me, if my game is getting popular or makes good amount of money or not? Does it make me less of a true game developer to have thoughts of wanting it to be profitable? Is it making my idea less worth, if I think it might not be THAT big breakthrough?

But there is also another thought…WHEN is the start of a game? When is it “born”? Who is making the treshhold of when a game is starting to become real?
and are other indie game devs having similar thoughts and insecurities?

so many questions…

2 thoughts on “one day this one day that

  1. I’ll do you a favor and answer one question.
    “…are other indie game devs having similar thoughts and insecurities?”
    Yes, often really. Wanting to be popular, or at least known in the indie dev scene. And what would the people playing your game think, would they like it, would they hate it?
    But as you show your games(whether small or big) to more people it gets i bit easier to relax these thoughts.

    Like

    1. it’s honestly difficult though, to deal with those rather contradicting thoughts. On one side I feel like I could do anything and it would be fine and on the other side it’s like I will never be good enough to ever reach any kind of recognition for all my work :/ it’s also not helping that I made some rather bad experiences when someone told me that my presentation of my work looked like i did more than I really did…which was rather bashing, considering that I didn’t just repeat stuff in that presentation, but maybe had easier time representing what I really did …

      Like

Leave a Reply

