New Mom and Dev?

Are there any solo Indie devs out there, that have experience with managing a child and game development?
I really don’t know how to do both, I want to work, but no matter what I do I can’t really get “off-time” from being mom, there is always something going on, from teething, learning to walk, wanting to be hold and in general wanting alot of attention. I don’t really have friends that I could ask to take care of her for some time and I don’t really want her to feel like I want to get rid of her. It just would be nice to know how other people are capable of managing their time or if they simply scrap any projects for specific age(s) of their children.

I really feel like I’m getting frustrated from it, that the only times that I may have free for developing are MAYBE 2 hours a day, 3 when I’m lucky and less than 2, if I can’t get her to sleep at all :/
But I also need those off times to relax and game development is not relaxing, even if it’s fun, I just have not inherited the tools yet that much, that I’m completely comfortable working with them without having to think about it.

I really would like to find a way to make this work 😮

3 thoughts on “New Mom and Dev?

  1. I don’t really have children, so I don’t know what to say, nor do I know what I can say considering a lack of game dev, but I can say this, you are still able to juggle this and that is fantastic.

    Like

    1. All I can say is, it’s really hard >.< not to mention that I'm also trying to learn a new language currently and still find time for my husband also O.o I really sometimes wonder where the heck I should get the time from for game developing and recently, it ended up in me mostly researching about things for my game, but not actual developing :/ *sighs*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. First of all, I have to read lots of posts after the first few before I catch up with your blog. Yet I think you only need to take it a bit easier – the fact you still manage to have about 2 hours to work on the game is awesome. Babies grow very fast and she won’t learn to walk second time. 😉 I found myself felling bad when I had to put away some projects just for a weekend and this means my focus on them was turning into somewhat bad habit. Try to get as much as possible from the time you can spend on your game and don’t worry when you have to stop. I know it may sound strange and not always work when one actually does some research but let your brain do some thinking in the ‘background’ by just keeping in mind things you want to figure out while you’re busy with other activities. Then you may get some steady pace during ‘work’ hours every day.
    I have recently changed job and hopefully will find some time for game programming fun. It may sound selfish but I’m happy to see you exploring the topic and play with it as the experience you share on this blog is priceless for someone who would like to follow this path. Take care and keep your desires burning. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

