Sidetracked…again :) And tiny bits of dragonlands!

Since I had seen quite many videos from one artist who was making low-poly models and only colored the models by applying different materials instead of using textures, I got curious if it’s maybe possible to somehow render those colors into a UV texture. Which would make texturing in photoshop alot easier and blocking out colors really fast. I could’nt quite find exactly that, but I could find a tool within blender that allows to paint on objects directly, which seems to do a similar job and can even be expanded to draw the whole texture without even touching photoshop once.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L7ALfRw6I5I
What I also like about this video is that he is not only showing the blender tool, but he is explaining a little bit of color theory and explains why he chooses to paint the way he does. It may be “obvious” for some people, but I always struggled to know how to use analogous colors efficiently. I just didn’t know where to use them.

I don’t know why I’m always sidetracking so much, but I also wondered about how to make tileable textures more efficiently, because last time i tried myself on creating textured House models, I noticed, that I would have liked to draw the textures per hand, but the offset functions of photoshop where just screwing with my lineart. Due to this tutorial earlier, I stumbled upon tileable texture creation in Blender, which seems to also show how the texture behaves when tiled over a larger area (which is really important when you have to paint big unobstructed flat areas in games, since tiling or repeating patterns are becoming visible. Usually, when that happens, all the work done on painting that texture feels like wasted.

Maybe I can use this together with photoshop to create better textures 😀
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hvacGEWE6bM&feature=youtu.be
(for blender)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00HWY28YJsM
(example how it can be used)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpVylUDyYuQ
(how to make tileable handpainted textures in photoshop)

I tried to make some concepts for how I imagine the world of my game to be. Ended up only making some thumbnails, so here they are:

thumbnail1thumbnail2thumbnail3thumbnail4thumbnail5thumbnail6

In general I imagine the world to be in a rather warm climate, consisting of large forests, wide plains and huge rough mountains. The vegetation below mountains is lush due to water coming down from alot of springs nearby mountains, but the further up one goes, the more dry they actually become. Most mountains are containing reddish stone, like sandstone. It’s good to store water, but when dry and exposed to weather it becomes very brittle, so it’s not unusual to see mountains with very sharp peaks, but also mountains that are rounded up from alot of rain. So the higher a mountain the less round it looks like. The highly water containing grounds is also making it difficult for trees to grow nearby mountains, only the trees with really deep and strong roots can sustain the constant danger of avalanches. So in this landscape, forests are unlikely to be directly at the bottom of mountains, but more likely filling the space between large open areas and mountains. Most likely they are also often found around non moving water sources, like lakes, which should be plenty. I hope my skills are becoming good enough to actually show what exactly Iam imagining. Currently it feels a bit too vague. Will have to do more research about how real life landscapes are created.

Leave a Reply

